Two and a Half Socks

Dad and I

Dad and I 2

And then it sunk.

I can’t help but have a heavy heart this holiday season.  Especially since we are not going home to Michigan, like usual.  This year, it will be just Bobby and I (and of course Baby Sock) and our kitties. Oh and my brother is coming to spend Christmas with us, which I’m very excited about.  Counting down the days until I get to hug him tight.

My heart is heavy from the pain inflicted from the lack of empathy and love from my own father.  I’d be a liar if I said it didn’t hurt.  His words haunt my mind at my weakest moments.  Days that nothing goes right and all go wrong.  My mind wanders to things that are unfortunate in these moments.  Things that I throw on the back burner for a later time seem to activate in my mind.  Things I would rather…

View original post 603 more words

