Iván Y Vienen

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 10.02.40 PMThere are many holidays I grew up celebrating in grade school that were never even mentioned once I got home. My parents did not understand what American holidays and celebrations like Memorial Day, Independence Day, Valentine’s Day, Columbus Day and Halloween were about. A lot of the time, they were just happy to have the day off with pay. But despite not celebrating a majority of the American holidays in my home, there is one that my family celebrates wholeheartedly – Thanksgiving Day.

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 10.03.18 PM

To my parents, Thanksgiving Day was an opportunity to spend time with the entire family and give thanks for everything that we had. Because Thanksgiving isn’t traditionally part of the Latino culture or heritage, we adopted the holiday and made it a tradition of our own. We have the traditional Thanksgiving meal, but as you’d expect, every dish and recipe has a Mexican

View original post 306 more words

